Books & More from the Teen Scene

Book reviews and other reflections from one of Oregon's young adult librarians

“My So-Called Death” by Stacey Jay December 6, 2011

Filed under: Chick Lit,Fiction,Mystery,Young Adult,Zombies/Undead — hilariouslibrarian @ 8:33 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Jay, Stacey. My So-Called Death. Woodbury, Minn.: Flux, an imprint of Llewellyn Publications, 2010. 229 pages. ISBN: 9780738715438

My So-Called Death cover

Images courtesy of GoodReads.com

Annotation:

A hard fall off the top of a cheer pyramid knocks Karen Vera into another world. Turns out, she’s genetically indisposed toward death. So, instead of planning a funeral, her parents ship her off to DEAD High where a fellow zombie with a taste for other zombie brains is about to make everything very interesting indeed.

Booktalk:

I thought I was on top of the world. After all, I was a 14-year-old cute, blonde cheerleader who out-perkied even the perkiest of other cheerleaders. But it turns out, I was only on top of the cheer pyramid and that pyramid was about to collapse. So, you would think once I fell headfirst from the top of the heap onto the pavement below and most of my brains fell pretty much clean out of my head that that would be the end of my story, right?

Well, you’d be wrong. Apparently, I’m immortal. Not the cool kind of super-power immortal, but the kind that craves brains and has to follow a skin-care regimen to avoid rot. (Ew, gross.) They like to call it death challenged, but basically, I’m a zombie now so I have to ditch my family and go to a special zombie school and if my totally freaky zombie roommate wasn’t bad enough – yikes! Now someone is prying the brains out of other zombie’s heads to make some kind of super-stew. And I’m totally afraid it might be Gavin, the super-cute zombie from the swim team who makes my non-beating heart go pitter-pat.

I have just got to get to the bottom of this. I don’t want someone stealing my brain before I even kiss my first zombie boyfriend and really start to enjoy “My So-Called Death.”

Awards:

None noted

 

Leave a Reply

